Jan Łukasiewicz

Jan Łukasiewicz

Info

Jan Łukasiewicz wrote pioneering works on multi-valued logics and invented the so-called “Polish notation” used today in most programming languages. He played a decisive role in the establishment of mathematical logic in the German-speaking countries. Łukasiewicz was born on the 21st December 1878 in Lemberg (Lwów) and died in Dublin on the 13th February 1956.

Location in the atlas of remembrance places

It is a more than astounding fact that a former Polish Ministry of education and rector of Warsaw University was awarded an honorary doctorate in Nazi Germany in 1938. Furthermore he was still lecturing at Münster University in spring 1936; and last not least he survived the final years of the war with the support of friendly German mathematicians.

 

Jan Leopold Łukasiewicz was born on 21st December 1878 in Lemberg (Lwów), the then capital of the Austrian province of Galicia. Even though his father Paweł was a captain in the Austrian army and his mother Leopoldine, the daughter of an Austrian civil servant, the family only spoke Polish at home. After completing his studies at the humanist grammar school in 1887 he first read law, then mathematics and philosophy in Lemberg. He studied for a doctorate under Kazimierz Twardowski and was awarded his Ph.D. title in 1902 with a special mention “sub auspiciis Imperatoris” (under the auspices of the Kaiser), as well as receiving a doctorate ring studded with diamonds from Kaiser Franz Joseph I. Between 1902 and 1906 Łukasiewicz continued his philosophical studies abroad, especially in Berlin and Leuven. In 1906 he qualified as a university professor in Lemberg, where he was a freelance lecturer until he was appointed an associate professor in 1911.

 

In 1915 the Central Powers (the German Reich and Austria-Hungary) appointed him to the reopened Warsaw University. In 1918 he was made a ministerial director in the Polish Ministry of Education and from January to December 1919 he was the Minister of Education in Paderewski’s cabinet. Łukasiewicz was a professor for mathematical logic and basic research at Warsaw University from 1920 until the German invasion of Poland in September 1939. During this time he was elected Rector of the University on two occasions (1922/23 and 1931/32). Along with Stanisław Leśniewski, Łukasiewicz was one of the leading minds in the famous Lemberg-Warsaw School of Logic and Scientific Theory, which also included such outstanding academics as Alfred Tarski and Andrzej Mostowski. Łukasiewicz’s students included Mordechaj Wajsberg, Zygmunt Kobrzyński, Stanisław Jaśkowski, Bolesław Sobociński, Jerzy Słupecki and Józef Maria Bocheński.

 

One of Łukasiewicz’s closest friends was the German theologian and mathematician Heinrich Scholz (1884-1956), who held the first chair of mathematical logic in Germany at the University of Münster. The two logicians upheld an intensive exchange of academic knowledge between Munster and Warsaw. This was linked with mutual lecture journeys and joint research projects. In February Łukasiewicz was invited to give four highly esteemed lectures by the faculty of philosophy and natural sciences at the University of Minster. On 20th December 1938, amid increasing German-Polish tensions, Łukasiewicz was awarded an honorary doctorate by the faculty of philosophy at the University of Münster for services to establishing mathematical logic in Germany and the mathematician Gottlob Frege. The German ambassador Hans Adolf von Moltke awarded him the honorary certificate at an official ceremony in the German Embassy in Warsaw. The notabilities present at the ceremony included the rector of Warsaw University and other prominent representatives from the academic and political worlds, as well as Adolf Kratzer, the Dean of the faculty of philosophy at the University of Minster, and Heinrich Scholz.

 

Łukasiewicz’s apartment in Warsaw was completely wiped out by German bombardments in September 1939, and his complete library, correspondence and manuscripts were all destroyed by fire. With his wife Regina Barwińska he managed to find a provisional home in a boarding house for academics. Since the University had been closed by the German occupation forces Łukasiewicz was also in a very precarious financial situation. Thanks to help from Heinrich Scholz, the philosopher Jürgen von Kempski and others, Łukasiewicz managed to find a post as a translator at the Warsaw City Archive. In addition he received financial help from Scholz via the German Red Cross. On Scholz’s initiative he was also offered a post at the so-called “Institute for German East Work” but he turned this down on political grounds. Łukasiewicz taught secretly at the Warsaw Underground University (Tajny Uniwersytet Warszawski).

During the war years Heinrich Scholz also worked to ensure the release of the Kraków theology professor Jan Salamucha from the concentration camp in Oranienburg, and the Kraków philosopher of science Joachim Metallmann from the camp in Buchenwald. Because of his commitment he was given a harsh reprimand by the then Minister of Science who threatened him with the sack.

 

Since Łukasiewicz’s wife belonged to the Polish aristocracy and he himself was a former Minister of Education and dignitary (amongst others he had been awarded the Order of Polonia Restituta) they belonged to a group of persons who were threatened with reparations, even execution after Poland was occupied by the Red Army in autumn 1943. As a result Łukasiewicz made preparations to flee from Poland in an emergency. As can be seen from an exchange of letters between Łukasiewicz and Scholz Łukasiewicz was planning to move to Switzerland. The first step along the way was to be a brief stay in Germany. Since it was necessary to fulfil a huge number of official conditions to be allowed entry into the country Scholz took over the necessary preparations and consulted the authorities and the Chief Inspector of the Police in Münster. On the 17th July 1944, only a few days after the start of the Warsaw Uprising, Jan and Regina Łukasiewicz left Warsaw for Münster, where they arrived on the following day. The attempt on Hitler’s life on 20th July 1944 put paid to their onward journey to Switzerland because they were now forbidden to leave the German Reich. The Łukasiewicz’s remained in Münster with the support of their mathematician friends, living in the cellar of a bombed out house until Jürgen von Kempski brought them to his country farmhouse in Hembsen (district of Höxter) on 1st January 1945. Here they were liberated by American troops in April 1945.

 

A few days later Łukasiewicz received an invitation from the well-known Polish General, Leon Berbecki, the commander of the former prisoner-of-war camp for Polish officers (Oflag VI B) in Dössel. Łukasiewicz accepted the invitation and remained in Hohenwepel in the vicinity of Dössel until October 1945 where he taught logic in a Polish school that had been provisionally set up in the former camp in Dössel. For Łukasiewicz it was clear that he would never return to Poland since as a philosopher he refused to propagate dialectical materialism at a communist university. After a brief stay in Brussels he decided to emigrate to Ireland On 4th March 1946 he arrived in Dublin were he was greeted by the Irish Foreign Minister and Head of Government. In autumn 1946 Łukasiewicz was appointed Professor of Mathematical Logic at the Royal Irish Academy where he taught until 1953. He died on the 13th February 1956 in Dublin and was buried in the city’s Glasnevin cemetery. Łukasiewicz’s legacy can be found in the library of Manchester University.

 

In his obituary for Łukasiewicz Heinrich Scholz wrote: “A humanist under the sign of ‚Cogito, ergo sum’ during a time of the most severe challenges.”

Sabine Krämer

 

Further reading:

Elstrodt, Jürgen; Schmitz, Norbert: Geschichte der Mathematik an der Universität Münster, 1773-1945, Münster 2008 (Available online at: http://wwwmath.uni-muenster.de/historie/)

Schmidt am Busch, Hans-Christoph; Wehmeier, Kai F.: Heinrich Scholz und Jan Łukasiewicz, in : Forum für osteuropäische Ideen- und Zeitgeschichte, 11. Jg. 2007, pp. 107-125

Woleński, Jan: Mathematical Logic in Warsaw: 1918-1939, in: Andrzej Mostowski and Foundational Studies, ed. V. A. Ehrenfeucht et al., pp. 30-46.

A detailed account of Łukasiewicz’s writing including a bibliography can be found at: http://plato.stanford.edu/entries/lukasiewicz/

Media Library on topic

Images

Share

Announcement of Łukasiewicz’s lecture at the University of Münster
Poster
Announcement of Łukasiewicz’s lecture at the University of Münster
The award of the title of honorary doctor of the University of Münster to Jan Łukasiewicz in the German Embassy in Warsaw on 20th December 1938. L. to r: Jan Łukasiewicz, Adolf Kratzer, Hans Adolf von Moltke, Heinrich Scholz
Award
The award of the title of honorary doctor of the University of Münster to Jan Łukasiewicz in the German Embassy in Warsaw on 20th December 1938.
The award of the title of honorary doctor of the University of Münster to Jan Łukasiewicz in the German Embassy in Warsaw on 20th December 1938. (Front row left Heinrich Scholz, centre Jan Łukasiewicz, alongside him his wife Regina Barwińska, behind her Hans Adolf von Moltke. Second row, fourth from the right, Adolf Kratzer
The award of the title of honorary doctor
Front row left Heinrich Scholz, centre Jan Łukasiewicz, alongside him his wife Regina Barwińska, behind her Hans Adolf von Moltke. Second row, fourth from the right, Adolf Kratzer
The certificate of the award of the title of honoray doctor to Jan Łukasiewicz issued on 1st November 1938
Certificate
The certificate of the award of the title of honoray doctor to Jan Łukasiewicz issued on 1st November 1938

Jan Łukasiewicz

Jan Łukasiewicz

Info

Jan Łukasiewicz verfasste bahnbrechende Arbeiten auf dem Gebiet der mehrwertigen Logik und erfand die sogenannte „polnische Notation“, die heute in den meisten Programmiersprachen Anwendung findet. Er war entscheidend an der Etablierung der mathematischen Logik im deutschen Raum beteiligt. Łukasiewicz  wurde am 21.12. 1878 in Lemberg (Lwów) geboren und starb am 13.02.1956 in Dublin.

Lage im Atlas der Erinnerungsorte

Es ist eine mehr als erstaunliche Tatsache, dass ein ehemaliger polnischer Bildungsminister und mehrmaliger Rektor der Warschauer Universität im NS-Deutschland des Jahres 1938 einen Ehrendoktor erhält, noch im Frühjahr 1936 an der Münsteraner Universität doziert und schließlich das letzte Kriegsjahr mit Unterstützung befreundeter deutscher Mathematiker im Münster überlebt.

Jan Leopold Łukasiewicz wurde am 21. Dezember 1878 in Lemberg (Lwów), der damaligen Hauptstadt der österreichischen Provinz Galizien geboren. Auch wenn sein Vater Paweł Hauptmann der österreichischen Armee war und seine Mutter Leopoldine, Tochter eines österreichischen Beamten, wurde in der Familie zuhause nur Polnisch gesprochen. Nach dem Besuch des humanistischen Gymnasiums studierte er ab 1887 in Lemberg zunächst Jura, dann Mathematik und Philosophie. Mit der besonderen Auszeichnung „sub auspiciis Imperatoris“ (unter der Aufsicht des Kaisers) promovierte er 1902 bei Kazimierz Twardowski zum Dr. phil. und erhielt von Kaiser Franz Joseph I. einen mit Diamanten besetzten Promotionsring. Zwischen 1902 und 1906 betrieb Łukasiewicz philosophische Studien im Ausland und insbesondere in Berlin und Leuven. 1906 erfolgte seine Habilitation in Lemberg, wo er zunächst als Privatdozent und ab 1911 als außerordentlicher Professor tätig war.

1915 berief ihn die von den Zentralmächten (Deutsches Reich und Österreich-Ungarn) wiedereröffnete Warschauer Universität. 1918 wurde er zum Ministerialdirektor im polnischen Bildungsministerium ernannt und war von Januar bis Dezember 1919 Bildungsminister im Kabinett Paderewski. Von 1920 bis zum deutschen Einmarsch in Polen im September 1939 war Łukasiewicz Professor für mathematische Logik und Grundlagenforschung an der Warschauer Universität. Während dieser Zeit wurde er zwei Mal (1922/23 und 1931/32) zum Rektor der Universität gewählt.  Gemeinsam mit Stanisław Leśniewski war Łukasiewicz einer der führenden Köpfe der berühmten Lemberg-Warschauer Schule für Logik und Wissenschaftstheorie, der so bedeutende Wissenschaftler wie Alfred Tarski und Andrzej Mostowski angehörten. Zu Łukasiewicz Schülern zählen:  Mordechaj Wajsberg, Zygmunt Kobrzyński, Stanisław Jaśkowski, Bolesław Sobociński, Jerzy Słupecki und Józef Maria Bocheński.

Łukasiewicz verband eine enge Freundschaft mit dem deutschen Theologen und Mathematiker Heinrich Scholz (1884-1956), der an der Universität Münster den ersten Lehrstuhl für mathematische Logik in Deutschland innehatte. Zwischen den Logikern in Münster und Warschau entstand ein intensiver wissenschaftlicher Austausch, verknüpft mit gegenseitigen Vortragsreisen und gemeinsamen Forschungsvorhaben. Im Februar 1936 hielt Łukasiewicz auf Einladung der Philosophischen und Naturwissenschaftlichen Fakultät vier vielbeachtete Vorträge an der Universität Münster. Am 20.12. 1938, inmitten des sich zuspitzenden deutsch-polnischen Konfliktes, erhielt Łukasiewicz für seine Verdienste um die Durchsetzung der mathematischen Logik in Deutschland und um den Mathematiker Gottlob Frege die Ehrendoktorwürde der Philosophischen Fakultät der Universität Münster. Die Ehrenurkunde wurde ihm bei einem Festakt in der Deutschen Botschaft in Warschau durch den Deutschen Botschafter Hans Adolf von Moltke verliehen. An der Feierstunde nahmen neben dem Rektor der Warschauer Universität, zahlreiche Honoratioren aus Wissenschaft und Politik, sowie auch Adolf Kratzer, Dekan der philosophischen Fakultät der Universität Münster, und Heinrich Scholz teil.

Durch die deutsche Bombardierung Warschaus wurde Łukasiewicz’ Wohnung im September 1939 völlig zerstört, seine gesamte Bibliothek und Korrespondenz und alle Manuskripte verbrannten.  Er und seine Frau Regina Barwińska fanden eine provisorische Bleibe in einer Unterkunft für Akademiker. Da die Universität von den deutschen Besatzern geschlossen wurde, befand sich Łukasiewicz auch in einer prekären finanziellen Situation. Durch die Vermittlung von Scholz, dem Philosophen Jürgen von Kempski und anderen, erhielt Łukasiewicz eine Stelle als Übersetzter am Warschauer Stadtarchiv. Zudem unterstützte ihn Scholz durch Geldzuwendungen, die er ihm durch Kontakte zum Deutschen Roten Kreuz zukommen ließ. Eine ihm auf Scholzens Initiative angebotene Stelle am „Institut für deutsche Ostarbeit“ lehnte Łukasiewicz aus politischen Gründen ab. Łukasiewicz lehrte an der geheimen Warschauer Untergrunduniversität (Tajny Uniwersytet Warszawski).

In den Kriegsjahren setzte sich Heinrich Scholz auch für die Freilassung des Krakauer Theologieprofessors Jan Salamucha und des Krakauer Wissenschaftstheoretikers Joachim Metallmann aus den Konzentrationslagern Oranienburg bzw. Buchenwald ein. Dieser Einsatz zog eine scharfe Rüge des damaligen Wissenschaftsministers mit der Androhung der Amtsenthebung nach sich.

Da Łukasiewicz Frau dem polnischen Adel angehörte und auch er selbst als ehemaliger Bildungsminister und polnischer Würdenträger (er war u.a. Träger des Ordens Polonia Restituta) zu der Gruppe von Personen zählte, die bei einer Besetzung Polens durch die Rote Armee mit Repressionen bis hin zur Exekution bedroht waren, traf Łukasiewicz seit Herbst 1943 Vorbereitungen, um im Notfall Polen verlassen zu können. Wie dem Briefwechsel zwischen Łukasiewicz und Scholz zu entnehmen ist, beabsichtigte Łukasiewicz sich in der Schweiz nieder zu lassen. Als erster Schritt auf diesem Weg war eine kurzzeitige Unterbringung in Deutschland geplant. Da für eine Einreisegenehmigung zahlreiche Auflagen zu erfüllen waren, traf Scholz entsprechende Vorbereitungen, konsultierte Behörden und den Münsteraner Polizeipräsidenten. Am 17. Juli 1944, nur wenige Tage vor Ausbruch des Warschauer Aufstandes, konnten Jan und Regina Łukasiewicz Warschau verlassen und trafen am folgenden Tag in Münster ein. Infolge des Attentats auf Hitler am 20. Juli 1944 wurden ihre Pläne einer Weiterreise in die Schweiz zunichte gemacht, da sie keine Erlaubnis mehr erhielten das Deutsche Reich zu verlassen. Die Łukasiewicz’ blieben mit Unterstützung befreundeter Mathematiker in Münster, lebten dort im Keller eines zerbombten Hauses, bis Jürgen von Kempski  sie am 1. Januar 1945 auf seinen Hof in Hembsen (Kreis Höxter) brachte. Dort wurden sie im April 1945 von amerikanischen Truppen befreit.

Wenige Tage später erhielt Łukasiewicz eine Einladung des bekannten polnischen Generals Leon Berbecki, Kommandant des ehemaligen Kriegsgefangenenlagers für polnische Offiziere (Oflag VI B) in Dössel. Łukasiewicz folgte der Einladung und blieb bis zum Oktober 1945 in Hohenwepel in der Nähe von Dössel und unterrichtete Logik in einer provisorisch eingerichteten, polnischen Schule im ehemaligen Lager Dössel. Für Łukasiewicz stand fest, dass eine Rückkehr nach Polen ausgeschlossen sei, da er es ablehnte als Philosoph an einer kommunistischen Universität dialektischen Materialismus zu propagieren. Nach einem kurzen Aufenthalt in Brüssel entschloss sich Łukasiewicz nach Irland zugehen. Am 4. März 1946 traf er in Dublin ein, wo er vom Außenminister und  dem irischen Regierungschef empfangen wurde. Im Herbst 1946 wurde Łukasiewicz zum Professor für mathematische Logik an der Royal Irish Akademy berufen, an der er bis 1953 lehrte.  Er starb am 13.02.1956 in Dublin und wurde auf dem dortigen Glasnevin Friedhof beigesetzt. Łukasiewicz’ Nachlass befindet sich in der Bibliothek der Universität von Manchester.

In seinem Nachruf auf Łukasiewicz schrieb Heinrich Scholz: „Ein Humanist im Zeichen eines in schwersten Prüfungen erprobten ‚Cogito, ergo sum’.“

Sabine Krämer

 

Weiterführende Literatur:

 

Elstrodt, Jürgen; Schmitz, Norbert: Geschichte der Mathematik an der Universität Münster, 1773-1945, Münster 2008 (Online verfügbar unter http://wwwmath.uni-muenster.de/historie/)

Schmidt am Busch, Hans-Christoph; Wehmeier, Kai F.: Heinrich Scholz und Jan Łukasiewicz, in : Forum für osteuropäische Ideen- und Zeitgeschichte, 11. Jg. 2007, S. 107-125

Woleński, Jan: Mathematical Logic in Warsaw: 1918-1939, in: Andrzej Mostowski and Foundational Studies hrsg. V. A. Ehrenfeucht u. a., S. 30-46.

Eine eingehende Darstellung des wissenschaftlichen Werkes Łukasiewicz’ nebst Bibliographie unter http://plato.stanford.edu/entries/lukasiewicz/

 

Mediathek zum Thema

Bilder
Audio

Teilen

Ankündigung des Łukasiewicz Vortrages an der Universität Münster
Plakat
Ankündigung des Łukasiewicz Vortrages an der Universität Münster
Verleihung der Ehrendoktorwürde der Universität Münster an Jan Łukasiewicz in der Deutschen Botschaft in Warschau am 20.12. 1938. V.l.n.r: Jan Łukasiewicz, Adolf Kratzer, Hans Adolf von Moltke, Heinrich Scholz
Verleihung in Münster
Verleihung der Ehrendoktorwürde der Universität Münster an Jan Łukasiewicz in der Deutschen Botschaft in Warschau am 20.12. 1938.
Verleihung der Ehrendoktorwürde der Universität Münster an Jan Łukasiewicz in der Deutschen Botschaft in Warschau am 20.12. 1938 (1. Reihe links Heinrich Scholz, Mitte Jan Łukasiewicz, neben ihm seine Frau Regina Barwińska, hinter ihr Hans Adolf von Moltke, 2. Reihe 4. v.r. Adolf Kratzer)
Verleihung der Ehrendoktorwürde
1. Reihe links Heinrich Scholz, Mitte Jan Łukasiewicz, neben ihm seine Frau Regina Barwińska, hinter ihr Hans Adolf von Moltke, 2. Reihe 4. v.r. Adolf Kratzer
Urkunde zur Verleihung der Ehrendoktorwürde an Jan Łukasiewicz ausgestellt am 1.  November 1938
Urkunde
Urkunde zur Verleihung der Ehrendoktorwürde an Jan Łukasiewicz ausgestellt am 1. November 1938
Jan Łukasiewicz - Hörspiel von "COSMO Radio po polsku"
In Zusammenarbeit mit "COSMO Radio po polsku" präsentieren wir Hörspiele zu ausgewählten Themen unseres Portals.